Skip to content

reSLience… a.k.a. resilience

it's what lies within that really matters

Ok… I am not talking about You Tube and I apologize for my moment of weakness yesterday – I just couldn’t resist. I’ll do more of a quality post today. Today is a big day for my mom and I want to share it with you.

Some of you might know my mom is a watercolor artist. I have brought her work in-world when we first opened the Bistro – but then stored it away thinking better of it without her copyright permission. Anyway… my mom did oil painting for years, knows how to do every craft and sewing project imaginable, but never pursued a career in art until close to retirement from her career as a nurse.

She has been working hard at her watercolor career for the past 7 years. In the past 3 she has really committed herself to it full time. She has my Aunt to help her with inventory organization and occasional events. She has my dad to do her matting and framing. She has worked with a local company for years now on her website and Giclée prints. She herself though does all the work to network with galleries, with artist organizations and explore new ventures. This weekend will be her fourth Open Studios experience in Flagstaff! Go MOM!

Butterfly Medley

Butterfly Medley

She just finished a month-long show at a local cafe in Flagstaff where she celebrated her 5th August show! On the heels of that, she is spending the whole weekend hosting strangers in her studio and showcasing over 90 paintings and prints and cards. Next month she will collaborate in a show at a local jewelry store and gallery.

Arizona Columbine

Arizona Columbine

Congratulations Mom! Good luck this weekend! I owe you a chia tea for all your hard work – and much much more 🙂 I’m just so proud of you and all you have made come true!

Tags: ,

