Skip to content

reSLience… a.k.a. resilience

it's what lies within that really matters

At first glance you may think this is an election focused post. It could be. Change is the word everyone is talking about. Change has been the campaign slogan we have been hearing for months. It has been the butt of jokes and the rally cry of passionate politicians and supporters.

For me personally, it is today that the highs in Phoenix will finally not top 90 degrees. In fact, the high for today is 77. The pollution isn’t too bad today because there is a breeze. It makes me want to breathe deeply. It makes me want to close my eyes and breathe in everything good – everything that I hope to become. Change can be a good thing.

I’ve had a rollercoaster of the last several months with regards to work – actually going on a little over a year. I’m ready for change. Not ready for a new job – but ready for a change in that job. I’m ready to feel good about what I’m doing again and not waiting constantly for the other shoe to drop.

I’m ready for the fog to lift and the bright sun to burn off the haze – emotionally and physically. I want to really laugh – a hearty belly laugh – that makes your eyes water and maybe even a snort sneaks out. I want to feel the weight of the world I have been carrying on my shoulders slowly ease off. I close my eyes and envision all this happening… and breathe deeply.

No matter what differences we all feel and see and think about. After today, we will all have to find a way to play together nicely. We must. To fix the economy. To pay the bills. To show our children that we truly are adults and can find compromise. To ignore the media hype. To find a way to turn off the tv and just enjoy good conversations and good stories and good snuggles with those we love.

I read something today that said we live now in the Age of Anxiety. Is that the kind of legacy we want to leave for our children and our children’s children? Is that the same fear each generation has – but they just lived in a time without big flashy labels?

I am going to take every ounce of energy in me… and fighting a bad sinus infection and bronchitis makes that super hard (shameless sympathy ploy)… to vow to make change – in my own life, in my own sphere of influence, in my own backyard. I know in my head what I need to do to make a difference and bring about change but I need to let my heart feel it and then have my feet act on it.

I am so thankful for so many things in my life. And life is much much much too short to not enjoy all that is so good and right in the world. There is change in the air. The change is in me too. Life… is in the details. Life… is in what we each decide to do to make things better. I hope you will consider joining me.

Tags: ,

