Skip to content

reSLience… a.k.a. resilience

it's what lies within that really matters

I woke up the past couple of mornings with this song in my head. My dad used to sing this too me as a little girl before I would fall asleep at night. That was the routine. Brush teeth – story – and then snuggle under the covers and mom would give us backrubs sometimes and then daddy would sing us each a song. This one was always my favorite. Things have been hard recently. I think that’s why this song found its way to me again. Some things never leave your heart.

When I’m worried and I can’t sleep
I count my blessings instead of sheep
And I fall asleep counting my blessings
When my bankroll is getting small
I think of when I had none at all
And I fall asleep counting my blessings

I think about a nursery and I picture curly heads
And one by one I count them as they slumber in their beds
If you’re worried and you can’t sleep
Just count your blessings instead of sheep
And you’ll fall asleep counting your blessings

I still have my dad around. I’ll have to remind him of this song. That, and Scarlet Ribbons, will always soothe troubled thoughts and make for sweeter dreams.

Happy Weekend before Christmas everyone. I hope the spirit of the season finds you and touches your heart as well.

Tags:

